TFindDialog does not work via keyboard in Delphi Tokyo

General TRichView support forum. Please post your questions here
Post Reply
Rael Bauer
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:47 am

TFindDialog does not work via keyboard in Delphi Tokyo

Post by Rael Bauer » Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:29 am

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone out there has experienced this problem. If I compile ActionTestUni under Delphi XE4, I do not get this problem.

However when I compile it under Delphi Tokyo, the FindDialog does not show accelerator keys, and it also does not respond to normal keyboard events such a ENTER (triggering a search). I need to use the mouse and click on Find Next button.

XE4
Image

Tokyo
Image

Note how the find dialog has accelerator shortcuts in XE4.

Anyone else experience this problem? know how to fix?

Thanks
Rael

Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 14465
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Re: TFindDialog does not work via keyboard in Delphi Tokyo

Post by Sergey Tkachenko » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:03 pm

I am sorry, I do not know why it happens :(
I cannot reproduce it.
RichViewActions use the standard TFindDialog component that should display the standard Windows find dialog, it cannot be controlled by RichViewActions.

Rael Bauer
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:47 am

Re: TFindDialog does not work via keyboard in Delphi Tokyo

Post by Rael Bauer » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:50 pm

Yes, this has nothing to do with Richview really.

Anyway, after more investigation I am able to isolate the problem.
In a simple test project if I set the Appearance to Windows10 (not default of Windows), then the problem occurs.

https://www.bauerapps.com/dev/find_dialog_test.zip

Are you able to reproduce the problem now?

Maybe I will ask on SO, or report to Embt..

Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 14465
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Re: TFindDialog does not work via keyboard in Delphi Tokyo

Post by Sergey Tkachenko » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:47 pm

Ok, I understand now: if a VCL theme is applied (not necessary "Windows 10" theme, it happens in any theme), the find dialog does not have hotkeys.
Yes, I can reproduce it.
Unfortunately, this is out of my control (In future versions, we plan to use our own find and replace dialogs, but now we are using the standard ones).

Post Reply